top of page
Search
  • WartburgCollegeWindEnsemble

The Surf Ballroom

On May 2, the Wind Ensemble performed a concert at the Surf Ballroom, a significant icon in Iowa and American music history, in Clear Lake, IA. Performing in the Surf Ballroom was something that I was really looking forward to partaking in because of what we learned about it during class. The Surf Ballroom was originally constructed in 1933, but suffered a fire in 1947, and it was restored less than one year later. Today, the ballroom is located across the street from its original location. Its name refers to its appearance of an ocean beach club of sorts. The Surf Ballroom was also the last location where Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and the “Big Bopper” performed before their deaths.

One thing about the ballroom that surprised me was its appearance. Like I said, the Surf Ballroom gets its name from the way it looks like a beach club, which is highlighted by the palm trees and almost nautical details. The ballroom was very unique, and was unlike any performing location I’ve been to! I really enjoyed the ambiance and atmosphere that the Surf Ballroom created.


One of the best parts of performing in the Surf Ballroom was getting to see many of my family members in the audience, including some of my aunts and uncles who live in the area. I’m thankful we were able to perform so close to my extended family members, as it had been a very long time since I’ve seen any of them. This year, my parents have made it to almost every single Wind Ensemble concert, so it has been strange to not see them in the crowd at our tour concerts. Even though my immediate family is not from Clear Lake, it made seeing them more memorable and meaningful.

I think my favorite parts of the Surf Ballroom were the bathrooms and the green room. The bathroom had a very neat wallpaper. The green room‘s walls were covered with signatures of every person that performed there!


The Surf Ballroom was my favorite location we have played in so far, and I’m sure it will be tough to beat as the tour continues. I’m having a great time so far on my first (and final) Wind Ensemble tour. I’m grateful that the group was given the opportunity to tour our “backyard,” despite the uncertainties and changes that revolved around it. It has given me the chance to learn about things that are close to home, and I appreciate that.


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page