top of page
Search
  • WartburgCollegeWindEnsemble

Picturesque Pella

Updated: May 7, 2022


Ahh Pella... Home of Central College, my father, the Dutch, and 1 or 2 Tulips. The first spot I went to today was the windmill. whereThe windmill is one of the largest in the world!, so it made for a wonderful view over the city and festival! I strolled through the historic village after and got myself fresh Dutch letters that were almost as good as my grandma's! There was also this machine, similar to what we saw in House on the Rock. They called it Goliath. I talked to the operatoe for awhile and their largest book is The Sound of Music medley (costing over $700!) He even was kind enough to listen to it! I got my own pair of Clogs (not pictured) and wow they are hard to keep on. Not to mention how uncomfortable they were! Clogs were used by the Dutch to help protect their feet in factories. However they also make great dancing shoes, as we saw at the Grandstand later in the day. I made my way over to the Sholte House Garden, the founder of Pella's house, for a nice rest. I sat in the garden for about half an hour just admiring the tulips. Maria sholte often brought tea and played crochet with her house guests in her small backyard that spanned up to 2 blocks...


Each time I come back to Pella for the Tulip Festival is amazing and I can't wait to go again!


~ Zackary Anderson

~ First Year Percussion

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page